Skip to content

November 2006 Entry - Murder at the Four Dueces

Feedback on Murder at the Four Deuces Murder Mystery Parties!

Moderator: AlphaSquirell

November 2006 Entry - Murder at the Four Dueces

Postby Mimi » November 19th, 2006, 5:35 pm

Every since I have heard that they existed I have always wanted to host a Murder Mystery Party. My Seventeenth birthday proved the perfect opportunity. As I started researching on the internet about different games, I realised how much I wanted a game that set out the plot for you and then let the characters move it forward. I am a drama student, (dubbed the 'dramies' at our school) and so are most of my friends, so I knew that they would love a game that let them do some real acting and improvising. I also loved that this game let me choose the number of characters needed, so it didn't matter if one or two people cancelled.

I set up The Four Deuces in my house with the bar for the first floor and the 'bordello' in the basement. I made a full homemade Italian dinner for everyone with bruscetta, lasagna, and roast potatoes. My Mum and Dad, or 'the staff' helped me serving the meal and then scampered off to let me run the party.

My friends were really excited about coming and dressing up. One friend even bought a $60 retro dress! They all arrive perfectly in character and stayed that way all night. I made my dress from a retro Simplicity pattern. Big Jim arrived a little late, much to my panic, but once he arrived thing moved smoothly. My friends had a great sense of humour about the whole thing and had fun hamming it up with the characters. My friend Alex was the inspector and loved getting to read all the evidence and hamming it up with big words.